Research fellows

Fellows currently enrolled in the GPAC² programme reflect the international environment of UNU-MERIT and its School of Governance. Participants from developed European countries, the USA and Canada as well as less developed countries in Africa and Asia all take part in the programme.

Participants in this programme – policy analysts, professionals and consultants from the public and private sector – have jobs that allow them to spend a minimum amount of time on research activities that eventually lead to a PhD degree. Ideally, the employer of the participant supports the researcher actively by allocating time and facilitating research work (providing data, support, related assignments and the like).

UNU-MERIT and its School of Governance welcome fellows from a variety of backgrounds. The programme is open to fellows with a Master’s degree, strong academic records, professional or volunteer experience, affiliation with academic research and a special interest in policy analysis. The fellows come from both within the EU as well as from other continents and have a multidisciplinary background. The research interests as well as research experience of the fellows vary extensively.

As within the GPAC² training programme, application requirements not only include educational degrees, but very specifically relevant work experience and endorsement of the employer, the profile of GPAC² fellows is significantly different from the profile of full time PhD fellows. On average, our fellows are senior level employees or self-employed, aged between 35 and 60 and with work obligations and families at home.

Current GPAC² fellows

Tareq Abu-El-Haj
Fatai Adegboye
Fernanda Assuncao Soares
Gloria Bernal
Corinne Bossé
Julia Natascha Brümmer
Ana Cristina Calderon Ramirez
Camilo Nicanor Carrillo Purin
Mauricio Cespedes Quiroga
Maria Collazos Ortiz
Richard de Groot
Erich de la Fuente
Carmine De Salvo
Philip Drauz
Mohamed El Dahshan
Nashir El-Rufai
Maria Espinosa Romero
Marisa Foraci
Jason Goldstein
Silke Heuser
Roland Hosner
Michal Kazimierczak
Anna Knoll
Mona Korsgard
Martha Lahai-Conteh
Rafael Lemaitre Carabias
Till Leopold
Daniel Little
Karen Lock
Catie Lott
Ornsaran Pomme Manuamorn
William Massolin
Robbin Shea McClanahan
Gillian McFarland
Ricardo Morel Berendson
Felipe Alberto Muñoz Navia
Gonzalo Neyra Araoz
Thi Kieu Oanh Nguyen
Purity Njagi
Mutinta Hambayi Nseluke
Atsuko Okuda
Khaled Rajab
Emery Kenroy Roach
Jan Schwier
Giulia Sechi
Emanuela Sirtori
Shellie Solomon
Vincenzo Vinci
Silvia Vitiello